Burntisland Bowling Club

Burntisland Bowling Club


Officers elected for 2018

At the Club's AGM on 15 March 2017 the following were elected:

President: John MacDonald

Vice-President:Margaret Farnes

Treasurer: Linda Nimmo

Club Secretary: Richard Perry

Match Secretary: Janette MacDonald

Committee: Alan Lascelles; Ian McKay;

Alan Williamson; Susan Williamson

The 2017/2018 Outdoor Season Ends

The Club's season ended on 6 October with the annual match between teams representing the Treasurer and the Secretary. Although the match overall was a draw this year, an unusual outcome according to long-established members of the Club, one of the teams representing the Secretary, won by the largest margin and so were awarded the George Gibson Cup. The team comprised Jim Hunter, Rosemary Lascelles and Lorna Murdoch.

With the Club's internal competitions now completed, the winners include Dorothy Whyte, Ladies Champion, and Martin Hunter, Men's Champion. Other include: Brian Fleming (President's Cup Men); Wilma McLean (President's Cup Ladies); Brian Blake (Jim Baxter and Over 60s Trophy); Raymond Whyte (Stevenson's Cup); Ian Jamieson & Martin Hunter (Men's Ballot Pairs);Trevor Aldridge (Men's Consolation Cup), Dorothy Whyte (Festival Trophy, Morrison Trophy, Women's Senior Cup); Paul Graham, Brian Fleming & Ken Nimmo (Men's Triples); Rosemary Lascelles & Jean Watson (Ladies Ballot Pairs); Kath Cooper & Susan Williamson (Two Bowl Pairs); Dorothy & Raymond Whyte (Mixed Pairs); Margaret Farnes (Helen Mann Trophy); Ian McKay, Audrey Colville & Dick Westwater (James Ian Laird Cup).

The inaugural winner of the new Isabel Muir Trophy was Ruth Willis. This competition prize was awarded in memory of Isabel and her extensive contribution to the club over many years, including serving as Treasurer, several times being Ladies Champion and in numerous other roles.